The school has been established as a centre of learning for advanced studies in the following areas of environmental sciences - Ecology, biodiversity and conservation biology, natural resource management, remote sensing (RS) and geographical information system (GIS) applications, wetland and mountain ecosystem, disaster management, environmental pollution and waste management, environmental microbiology, environmental toxicology, environmental biotechnology, environment management including policies, environmental auditing, energy auditing and environmental impact assessment (EIA) .

The six divisions of the school:

1. Ecology and Resource Conservation
2. Environmental Biotechnology and Waste Management
3. Environmental Microbiology and Toxicology
4. Environmental Chemistry
5. Environmental Geosciences and Disaster Management
6. Remote Sensing and GIS